Calendar

Mo Tu We Th Fr Sa Su
27 28 29 30 1 2 3
4 5 6 7 8 9 10
11 12 13 14 15 16 17
18 19 20 21 22 23 24
25 26 27 28 29 30 31

Searching

extended searching ...

Current weather

Weather today:

17. 12. 2017

zatazenosesnez

Day temperatures 0/4°C, around 1000m -5°C.
Night temperatures /°C.

Content

OLD TIMER CAR MUSEUM (FORMERLY MUNICIPAL WATERWORKS)

OLD TIMER CAR MUSEUM (FORMERLY MUNICIPAL WATERWORKS)

- Where the city’s oldest mill used to stand –
In U Obří hlavy Street, in the so called Dyje Quarter, near the lower gate to Caroline’s Garden, there is the Old Timer Car Museum. Up to the 19th century the Stone Mill used to stand here, a very old structure founded in the Early Middle Ages, from which in the 16th century a unique pipeline led upwards, supplying Znojmo Castle with fresh water. In 1897 the mill burnt down and in its place the City Council had a waterworks built, supplying the city with river water. The waterworks was connected to a new water power station equipped with a fifty-horsepower Francis turbine. In the following decades, as the consumption of water and power constantly grew, the Municipal Waterworks and Power Station had to be rebuilt, extended and modernized several times. The high brick chimney which still stands at the foot of Caroline’s Garden was also part of the waterworks. After the Znojmo Water Reservoir was built in the 1960s, the waterworks was closed down and left to decay until 2008 when the privately owned Veteran Car Museum was opened inside the former water power station. And it is a true “must see”!

- Where the city’s oldest mill used to stand –

In U Obří hlavy Street, in the so called Dyje Quarter, near the lower gate to Caroline’s Garden, there is the Old Timer Car Museum. Up to the 19th century the Stone Mill used to stand here, a very old structure founded in the Early Middle Ages, from which in the 16th century a unique pipeline led upwards, supplying Znojmo Castle with fresh water. In 1897 the mill burnt down and in its place the City Council had a waterworks built, supplying the city with river water. The waterworks was connected to a new water power station equipped with a fifty-horsepower Francis turbine. In the following decades, as the consumption of water and power constantly grew, the Municipal Waterworks and Power Station had to be rebuilt, extended and modernized several times. The high brick chimney which still stands at the foot of Caroline’s Garden was also part of the waterworks. After the Znojmo Water Reservoir was built in the 1960s, the waterworks was closed down and left to decay until 2008 when the privately owned Veteran Car Museum was opened inside the former water power station. And it is a true “must see”!   

 

Infocentrum Evropská unie Kudy z nudy Vranovsko
Jihomoravský kraj Znojmo ROP Jihovýchod Vinařský fond Všeobecná zdravotní pojišťovna Regionální noviny Znojemsko 5 + 2 Znojemský týden Znojemské listy Znojmo žije