THE DUAL CHAPEL OF ST. WENCESLAS
A jewel suspended over the valley
It was built thanks to the piousness of the Znojmo burgher Kateřina z Bučic prior to 1521 by the town wall in the corner of the cemetery near the church of St. Nicholas, in the immediate vicinity of the late Romanesque karner (cemetery chapel with an underground ossuary). The chapel got its name from the Gothic sculpture of St. Wenceslas on the entry facade. The upper chapel, consecrated to St. Anna and St. Catherine, boasts a wonderful late Gothic helical ribbed vault, the only one of its kind in Moravia. The lower chapel, consecrated to St. Martin, is probably of an older date with regard to its bulky architecture. In the 19th century, the upper chapel was used by the Evangelical church, in the second half of the 20th century it was the Orthodox church. At present the chapel is a venue for art exhibitions and concerts.